Good God how did this happen?
This normally type A girl has gone and got herself a real live, true blue addiction!
I've been knitting for most of my adult life and have been really disciplined about completing one project before embarking on another...until now. All of a sudden I've got four projects on the go and I'm thinking I'm just a wee bit outta control.
On top of that, I just don't seem to be able to stop. I'll be talking to a knitting chick being all normal and stuff, you know, talking about the weather and things, and the next thing you know I'm bringing the conversation around to knitting again. It seems to be all that I want to talk about. Today I described my new yarn by saying " I just want to drape it all around me and sleep in it".
The other night, I woke up at around 4 ish and you know the first thing that popped in to my mind? Was it something important? World hunger perhaps? Was I stressed? No, I thought about the sweater I'm working on. To say that this is tragic would be an understatement. I mean really Gazelle,REALLY!
But here's the thing. It's not just me. I am NOT alone. A friend, who shall remain nameless until she outs herself by commenting, has admitted her addiction as well. She confided that when she should be joining her man at bed- timish, she stays with her knitting, wanting to finish up those last couple of rows before she has to start her decreases. In the end she goes to bed much later than normal...
Another friend who will reveal herself in her own time admitted to "fixing" her daughters knitting the other day unbeknownst to the child. Upon seeing her daughter's frustration, she told her " Oh it's fine, just leave it with me" and THEN, proceeded to undo more than several rows so that she could make her daughter happy. Superior parenting or Obsessive Compulsive Knitting Disorder? You be the judge.
Like most addicts I justify my addiction. I have knitting for when I'm waiting around in my car;a scarf. I have day-time knitting; a sweater for my nephew and I have my night-time work on account of my vision is crapping out and I can't see my day-time knitting in low light because I'm working with navy blue Alpaca. Then I have the projects that I didn't even think I wanted to knit. The yarn was just SO damn beautiful, I just HAD to have it! I'll figure out what to do with it after consulting my other addicts. Can you see the circle getting vicious already?
Is it just us? Come on, it CAN'T be just us? I promise man, I'll kick tomorrow. Tomorrow I'll get myself sorted.



